Parker Fritz (b. 1997) is a saxophonist and composer.

His earliest pieces were written for piano, solo instrument with piano accompaniment, and small chamber ensembles. Many of these early pieces received live performances, such as his flute and piano piece Fantasy on Amazing Grace (2015), which has been performed numerous times by professional flutists in the United States, United Kingdom, and South Korea. Parker has recently written large ensemble pieces for orchestra (Hewn from Rough Edges, to be premiered by the Central Michigan University Symphony Orchestra in the fall of 2019) and percussion ensemble (Prevernal, published by C. Alan Publications). His new music focuses heavily on motivic development, atmospheric textures, formal structure, extended harmony, and lyricism.

Parker’s musical education extends into the performance realm as well. He is an adept solo saxophonist and chamber musician. As the soprano saxophonist in the acclaimed Zenith Saxophone Quartet, he has been accepted into many national chamber music competitions, including presence at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, a national finalist in the Music Teachers National Association Chamber Music Competition, the North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition, and several competitions and special performances at Central Michigan University. He has performed in masterclasses led by Nobuya Sugawa, the Chicago Saxophone Quartet, h2 Quartet, Christopher Creviston, Jonathan Nichol, and Jeffrey Loeffert.

Parker finished his Bachelor of Music degree at Central Michigan University, where he studied saxophone with John Nichol and composition with Evan Ware. At CMU, he received several awards for scholarship and creative activity, such as the Centralis Scholarship, the 2018 Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholar Award, and the 2019 Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Accomplishments. He is currently completing masters degrees in saxophone performance and composition at the University of Oklahoma, studying with Jonathan Nichol and Marvin Lamb.